From Albert Einstein to Mother Teresa of Calcutta, from Alexander Fleming to Martin Luther King, from Marie Curie to Nelson Mandela. The Nobel Prize in over one hundred years of tradition has been  awarded to the most distinguished personalities in scientific research together with the noblest peace-building spirits. It has also been awarded to economists of different theoretical orientations, from Milton Friedman and Friedrich von Hayek to Amartya Sen and Joseph E. Stiglitz.

The prestigious Nobel Prize was established in 1901 so 2020 marks its 119th edition. The Nobel Prizes in the categories of Medicine or Physiology, Physics, Chemistry, Literature, Peace and Economics are respectively announced from October 5 to 12. Cattolicanews publishes opinions from the University’s professors regarding these prestigious international awards, attributed to laureates who have distinguished themselves in the various fields of human knowledge and who have benefited humanity with their research.

Three virologists awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine
The award went to Harvey James Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice for their Hepatitis C research. Professor Antonio Gasbarrini comments on the awarding of the prize.

The Nobel Prize in Physics to the scholars of the black holes
The prize was awarded to researchers Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel, Andrea Ghez. Professor Roberto Auzzi comments on the awarding of the prize.

The "Genetic Scissors" awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry
The award for Chemistry went to scholars Emmanuelle Marie Charpentier and Jennifer Anne Doudna. Professor Luigi Lucini comments on the awarding of the prize.

Nobel Peace Prize to the World Food Programme
The award went to the United Nations Agency for its commitment to combating hunger and promoting cooperation for peace. Professor Raul Caruso comments on the awarding of the prize.

The poet who imagines the difficult awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature
The award for Literature went to Louise Glück. Professor Francesco Rognoni comments on the awarding of the prize.

The Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences to auction theorists
The award for Economic Sciences went to Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson. Professor Luca Colombo comments on the awarding of the prize.